WNBA Writing Contest is now open for submissions



We are seeking your best work for our national writing contest. Winning entries will be published in a special issue of The Bookwoman, the national newsletter of the WNBA.

Prizes: First place winners receive $250 cash prize. Second, third and honorable mentions will be published with the first place winners in the contest edition of The Bookwoman.

2015 Entry Fee: 
WNBA Members: $15 per entry
Non-Members: $20 per entry

Open to all writers 18 or older writing in English.
Simultaneous submissions are acceptable. Please inform the contest chairperson if work is accepted elsewhere. Previously published work accepted. If your work is accepted elsewhere please contact the Contest Chair joan@joangelfand.com.

Contest Categories

FICTION category
Includes short fiction, novel excerpts and flash fiction. 2,500–3,000 words maximum.

Includes memoir, personal essay and commentary. 2,500 words maximum.

3–5 pages of poetry

SUBMIT: Submit your work via our online submission site: https://wnba.submittable.com/submit

2014-2015 Contest winners

Winning entries are published in a special edition of Bookwoman

Poetry: Diana Whitney for “Curiosity”

Fiction: Allison Har-zvi for “If You’re Ready”

Creative Non-Fiction/Memoir: Diane Kraynak for “Science Project”

Runners-up Announced:

Poetry:   2nd Place:  Sarah Wolbach: “Words [in transit]“

3rd Place: Michelle Regalado Deatrick: “The Light-Lust of Trees”

Honorable Mention: Tanya Ko Hong: “Comfort Woman”

Fiction:  2nd Place:  Vicki deArmon – “Hydroplaning”

3rd Place: Kathleen Spivak – “Moths”

Honorable Mention:  Kristen MacKenzie – “Cold Comfort”

Creative Non-Fiction/Memoir:  2nd Place: Renate Stendhal – “Kiss Me Again. She Did.”

3rd Place:  J. Martin – “The Only Child”

Honorable Mention: L. Loomis – “Ghost House”

To download the full results, click on the link:

2015 WNBA Writing Contest Winners

Questions? Email Contest Chairperson: joan@joangelfand.com

Thank you for your submissions! Proceeds from the contest help support scholarships for writing conferences and other professional development training.

Watch for news on the next WNBA Writing Contest!

This year, the WNBA Writing Contest featured three categories of writing:

  • Fiction
  • Creative Non-Fiction
  • Poetry

Thank you to our judges:

Poetry: Ellen Bass

Fiction:  Michelle Hoover

Creative Non-Fiction/Memoir:  Dierdre Blair 




About Blog Editor

The Women’s National Book Association was founded in 1917 by female booksellers who weren’t allowed in the men’s organizations. Nearly 100 years later, the WNBA is still supporting women in the book industry through literary events, networking, literacy projects, workshops, open mic nights, book clubs, and many other entertaining programs throughout the season!

Comments are closed