WNBA Wednesday: WNBA Award Presentation

Photo: Annette Haley

As seen on Shelf Awareness:

Ann Patchett Presented with WNBA Award

“Even though I didn’t know I was applying for the job, I have somehow become the spokesperson for independent bookselling,” said Ann Patchett, calling books “my religion.”

The author and bookseller was speaking during a reception held at her store, Parnassus Books, Nashville, Tenn., when she received the WNBA Award, given “every two years to a living American woman who derives part or all of her income from books or the allied arts and has done meritorious work in the world of books beyond the duties or responsibilities of her profession.”

The WNBA Award has been presented continuously since 1940. Previous recipients include Eleanor Roosevelt, Pearl Buck, Doris Kearns Goodwin, Perri Klass and Kathi Kamen Goldmark.

Comments are closed.