Member Monday: Member Updates

Our industrious WNBA-NYC members have been busy, as ever!  Take a look at what some of our members have been up to.

Ziva Bakman-Flamhaft has launched her new website, www.ziva-bakman-flamhaft.com. You can also go to www.war-widow.com, which features her book, War Widow, and other works.

Susannah Greenberg, WNBA-NYC Publicity Chair, will moderate a panel event on book publicity for self-published authors at Book Expo America’s uPublishU, at the Javits Center on Sunday, June 3 at 2:30 PM. Read more here.

Janice Harayda will speak about book reviews — the good, the bad, and the ugly — at the BEA Bloggers Conference panel, Monday, June 4. Janice runs One-Minute Book Reviews, which was recently named one of New Jersey’s best blogs by New Jersey Monthly and ranked among the Top 40 book blogs by blog-ranking services such as Technorati and Alexa Internet.

Enid Harlow will have a new story published in issue 23 of North Atlantic Review.

Fatima Shaik spoke on a panel called Creoles and Citizens: Being Afro-Creole in New Orleans, 1836-1921, at the Louisiana Historical Association. Fatima also read her short stories at Xavier University of Louisiana in April 2012.

Rachel Slaiman had an article published in Latin Trends Magazine, entitled, Are You a Starving Artist or an Aspiring Professional?  Which Term is Correct?  The Five O'Clock Follies

Theasa Tuohy will read from her new novel, Five O’Clock Follies, at the Prince Street Gallery, 530 W. 25th Street, 4th Floor, Wednesday, May 30. Public is invited. Gallery opens at 6 PM, reading is at 6:30 PM. Reception follows. (Five O’Clock Follies will be published on October 15th by Calliope Press.)

Skeleton Woman Mingmei Yip‘s latest novel, Skeleton Women, will come out in June, published by Kensington Books. In the vein of Angelina Jolie’s SALT and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, Skeleton Women is the story of a singer/spy, a magician, and a gossip columnist scheming to survive the gang wars in the 1930’s lawless Shanghai. Find more information at www.mingmeiyip.com.