Feature Friday: WNBA Award Reception

Photo Credit: www.annpatchett.com

Photo Credit: www.annpatchett.com

In August, it was announced that author Ann Patchett had been chosen as the 2012-2013 WNBA Award recipient. Ms. Patchett is scheduled to receive her award at a reception being held June 9, 2013 at Parnassus Books, in Nashville –  a bookstore she opened in 2011, with publishing veteran Karen Hayes.

The award is presented by the WNBA to a living American woman who derives part or all of her income from books or the allied arts and has done meritorious work in the world of books beyond the duties or responsibilities of her profession or occupation.

Ann Patchett is an award-winning and bestselling author of several works of fiction, among them, Patron Saint of Liars, named a New York Times Notable Book of the Year; Taft, winner of the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for best work of fiction; Bel Canto, which won both the PEN/Faulkner and Orange Prize in 2002; The Magician’s Assistant; and her latest, State of Wonder. Among her nonfiction titles are Truth and Beauty and What Now?

In addition, Ms. Patchett has written for numerous publications, including The New York Times Magazine, Harper’s Magazine, The Atlantic, the Washington Post, Gourmet, and Vogue.

She has become a powerful  advocate for independent bookselling throughout the country, having been interviewed by NPR and The New York Times, and having appeared on The Colbert Report. She was also named one of Time Magazine’s “100 Most Influential People in the World” for 2012.

The WNBA Award has been presented continuously since 1940. Previous recipients have included Doris Kearns Goodwin, Carolyn Heilbrun, Barbara Bush, Eleanor Roosevelt, Perri Klass, and Kathi Kamen Goldmark.

Congratulations again to Ms. Patchett!

For more information about the WNBA Award, visit the national website here.

Comments are closed.